skip to main content

South Texas Center - McAllen Campus

The South Texas Center-McAllen campus was established in 2000 and provides comprehensive, accessible health education programs and services to residents of the Lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas. Since 2004, the McAllen campus has been housed in a 23,000-square-foot facility providing space for laboratories, offices, classrooms and conference areas used to deliver a wide range of health training, clinical research, medical education, community interventions and public health programs with local partners.

Currently our Campus houses Healthy South Texas Programs for a four-county area for which we are the point-of-contact. Those Programs include:

Community Outreach Programs

Projects in research and applied public health in south Texas depend on the advice, leadership and collaboration of promotoras (community health workers). Faculty and staff, including promotoras, advise and collaborate in ongoing clinics, screening programs and mobile health projects to provide health care to south Texas communities. Additional environmental health projects related to air quality monitoring in public school buildings and minimization of exposure to household hazardous materials are currently underway.

Research Initiatives

Faculty are working with the City of McAllen, local county governments and government officials in Mexico to address the health issues in the border population, particularly the high rate of type 2 diabetes, lack of medical insurance, poor access to health care and the effects of environmental factors. In addressing type 2 diabetes, faculty have secured funding for a series of projects to enhance nutrition knowledge and physical activity levels of colonia residents. Efforts to determine the impact of pesticide exposure in south Texas populations are spearheaded by the School of Public Health faculty and trained promotoras conducting data collection from colonia residents.

Personnel

Directors

Olga C. Gabriel, MPH
Director
Phone: 956.668.6300
Direct: 956.668.6303
Fax: 956.668.6301
gabriel@tamhsc.edu

Rose L Lucio, MPH
Assistant Director
Phone: 956.668.6314
Fax: 956.668.6301
lucio@tamhsc.edu

Staff

Ann Jimenez
Administrative Associate I
Phone: 956.668.6300
Fax: 956.668.6301
ann.jimenez@sph.tamhsc.edu

Minerva Lozano
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 956.668.6300
Fax: 956.668.6301
lozano@tamhsc.edu

Julissa Rivera, MPA
Program Coordinator II
Phone: 956.668.6304 Fax: 956.668.6301
julissa.rivera@tamhsc.edu

Reynaldo Escobedo
Building Attendant
Phone: 956.668.6306
Fax: 956.668.6301
escobedo@tamhsc.edu

Academic Programs

Josette M. Gonzalez
Academic Advisor II
Phone: 956.668.6324
Fax: 956.668.6301
josette.gonzales@tamhsc.edu

Cyndi Torres-Beltran
Program Manager
Phone: 956.668.6308
Fax: 956.668.6301
torres-beltran@tamhsc.edu

Working on Wellness Program

Evelia Castillo, MPH, CHWI
Program Coordinator
Phone: 956.668.6325
Fax: 956.668.6301
ecastillo@sph.tamhsc.edu

Ernestina Guel, CHWI
Community Health Worker Outreach III
Phone: 956.668.6323
Fax: 956.668.6301
guel@tamhsc.edu

Esther Valdez
Community Health Worker Outreach III
Phone: 956.668.6323
Fax: 956.668.6301
evaldez@tamhsc.edu