skip to main content


Q. What is a health science center? 
A. Most health science centers in Texas are based in one location that generally includes a teaching hospital or clinical facility. The Texas A&M Health Science Center (TAMHSC) offers many of the same degree programs and training facilities as other institutions but at a number of locations statewide – Bryan-College Station, Dallas, Temple, Houston, Round Rock, Kingsville, Corpus Christi and McAllen. 

Q. What partnerships does Texas A&M Health Science Center have with other institutions and organizations?
A. TAMHSC has numerous affiliations with clinical and educational facilities in all of its components' home cities and towns, as well as throughout the state. For example, the College of Medicine has among its partners Scott & White and the Central Texas Veterans Health Care System in Temple and Waco in its clinical education programs.

Q. Why does Texas A&M Health Science Center have a dental school with the Baylor name?
A.  Texas A&M University College of Dentistry began as the State Dental College, a proprietary dental school. When the United States entered World War I in 1917, it was still an unrecognized professional school, making its students prime targets for the draft. To avoid mass induction, the college was sold to Baylor University for $3,000.

 In the late 1960s, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board recommended the college accommodate 50 additional Texas residents in the entering class. The dental college was eager to meet the challenge but needed more money to be successful. The best alternative was state funding, but that meant the college had to sever its ties with Baylor University, a private Baptist university. The college officially separated in July 1971 and became College of Dentistry, a private, nonprofit, non-sectarian corporation.

In 1996, the college became a member of The Texas A&M University System and three years later became part of the Texas A&M Health Science Center. 

Q. What kind of degrees can you get through Texas A&M Health Science Center?
A. The College of Medicine offers the Doctor of Medicine (M.D.), along with a combined M.D./Ph.D. degree in Clinical Medicine and Medical Science, M.D./M.B.A. degree, M.D./M.P.H. degree, and M.S. in Education for Healthcare Professionals.

The College of Nursing offers the Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) degree in nursing education and a Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) through three tracks: Traditional, Second Degree and RN-to-B.S.N.

The Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy offers the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.).

The Office of Graduate Studies offers the Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) and Master of Science (M.S.) through other TAMHSC components.

The School of Public Health offers the Doctor of Public Health (Dr.P.H.), Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.), Master of Health Administration (M.H.A.), Master of Public Health (M.P.H.) and Master of Science in Public Health (M.S.P.H.).

Texas A&M University College of Dentistry offers the Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.), Master of Science (M.S.) and Bachelor of Science (B.S.), along with postdoctoral certificate and graduate degree programs.

Q. Is Texas A&M Health Science Center an accredited university?
A. Yes. Texas A&M Health Science Center has been fully accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

Last edited by: tarpley 08/21/2017