Go to content

May 12, 2001

The Texas A&M University System Health Science Center

Minutes of the HSC Faculty Senate TTVN meeting

May  12, 2001

From 3:32 p.m. - 4:48 p.m.

Senators present:, Robin Autenrieth, Dennis Bastron, Robert Cederberg, Alicia Dorsey, Charles Foulks, John Gelderd, Fred Gimble, Frank Perez-Guerra, Marvin Hirsh, Dean Hudson, Geoffrey Kapler, George Martinez, Tom McKinney, Barbara Miller, Ed Miller, Lynne Opperman, Alan Parrish, Tom Peterson,  Marty Scholtz, Tom Stanford, Dave Zawieja

Senators absent: Sue Carozza, Paul Gershon,, James Martin, Gerald Meininger, Jeana O'Brien, Robert Probe,

Guests present: None

Call to Order:

After checking with all TTVN sites, it was determined that all were present except the IBT site.  Speaker Opperman called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m.

Confirmation of a quorum:

It was determined that a quorum was present.

Approval of minutes:

The minutes of the Faculty Senate meeting on held on April 12, 2001 were approved as written.

Old Business:

FAPT Document: Senator Opperman thanked Senator Foulks for the work of his committee in providing modifications to arrive at a final version of the document.  Senator Opperman mentioned that her technician had gone through the document and incorporated changes and corrected any format problems that existed.  Section "H" was added since it had been eliminated from the CAFFERT document originally.  A definition of "Tenure" and was added to the document as well as a statement that service for Community Outreach and Public service would be worded as "professional service" and added where appropriate.  A motion was made by Senator Cederberg and seconded by Senator B. Miller that the changes to the document be accepted, incorporated into the document, and the document sent to Senator Bellinger (chair of the HSC FAPT Committee).  The motion passed unanimously.  Senators were encouraged to evaluate the document and send any recommended changes to Senator Bellinger.  A motion was made by Senator Peterson and seconded by Senator B. Miller that the corrected document then be sent on to Dr. Binnie.  The motion passed unanimously.

      CAFFERT document: Senator Autenrieth reported that the document did not address the issue of a faculty person failing to receive promotion from Associate Professor to Professor.  She is to gather information for a modified document (Z102) and send it to the CAFFERT Task Force ( Senators Opperman and Peterson) who will then circulate it to senators. 

      Curriculum Committee: Senator Gelderd reported that the Curriculum Committee be made a standing committee of the Senate and be comprised of one senator from each component. He will circulate a copy of the document to all senators.

      Web Page: efforts to get the Senate's web page operational continue and Senator Zawieja suggested that the design of the page be simplified, send it to the Senate for evaluation and approval, and then release it to the public.

      Faculty Manual: the persons to represent each component on the committee working on the faculty manual are: BCD- Robert Cederberg, COM- Sam Black, IBT- Richard Sunden, SRPH- Alicia Dorsey.  The names of these people will be sent to Dr. Binnie.     

New Business:

President Search Committee: Senator Opperman indicated that Dr. Gaston had called to give her an update on the search activities.  There have been 28 completed applications which currently are being narrowed to 7-8 semifinalists.  The committee will then do airport interviews and reduce the number to 3-5 candidates whose names will then be forwarded to the Chancellor by the middle of June.  Site visits will be conducted at each component.

SACS report: Senator Dorsey reported that the final draft at the component level is due by June 15.  October 1 is the date that the report is to go to the printer.  She indicated that the HSC and component faculty manuals must be in place for the SACS accreditation process.

Library Council: Senator Dorsey reported that the Med Science Library Council has students on it as well as faculty.  The Council is formed through the Senate so nominations must be given to the Senate for approval.  The library is a primary resource for the entire HSC and is important for SACS accreditation.  Senator Dorsey indicated that the Council would have to approve the addition of the IBT and BCD components to the council.

Summer Schedule: SACS pressure may necessitate meeting in the summer.  July is the next quarterly meeting.  A motion was made and seconded that the July meeting be moved to August and is to be at the IBT campus.  The motion passed.  IBT is to check for appropriate facilities for hosting the meeting.

Committee of the Whole

      Senator Opperman gave a report about Senator Meininger being excluded from the Search Committee for the IBT director.  She mentioned a letter sent by the Executive Committee to Dr. Cole and Dr. Bazer.  She discussed several points in the letter that Dr. Cole felt were wrong.  Dr. Cole sent a letter to Senator Opperman indicating his points of concern.  Dr. Cole indicated that Dr. Finnell was a past employee of A&M.   Some senators had concern about whether Dr. Cole had informed Senator Gershon that Senator Meininger was elected by the Senate to represent them on the committee.  Senator Opperman reiterated the scenario of Senator Gershon's refusal to acknowledge that Senator Meininger was an elected representative to the Search Committee.  Senator Opperman indicated that she had a conversation with Dr. Finnell about the past actions of the committee in the selection process for the Director of IBT.


A motion for adjournment was made, seconded, and passed and the meeting adjourned at 4:48 p.m.


Tom McKinney


HSC Faculty Senate