Go to content

Research Advisory Council


The Research Advisory Council (RAC) is advisory to the Vice President for Research on all matters relating to the administration and conduct of research at the HSC.  The RAC is comprised of the associate dean or director for research and one or more representatives of the research-oriented faculty from each of the components of the HSC. The Vice President for Research meets with the RAC on a monthly basis.  Faculty and staff are encouraged to bring any matters appropriate for discussion at the RAC to the attention of the representatives from their college or institute or directly to the Vice President for Research.


RAC Members:

David S. Carlson, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research (HSC)


Larry Bellinger, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies (BCD)


Julie Bishop, CRA

Assistant Director for Sponsored Projects (HSC)


Joseph Sharkey, Ph.D.

Professor and Head (SRPH)


Jean Brender, Ph.D.

Associate Professor (SRPH)


Jerry Feng, M.D. Ph.D.

Professor (BCD)


David Dostal, Ph.D.

Associate Professor (COM)


James R. Joyce, Ph.D.

Assistant VP for Research Development and Commercialization (HSC)


Wallace McKeehan, Ph.D.

Professor (IBT)


Stephen Safe, Ph.D.

Professor (IBT)


Rajat Sethi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor (COP)


Warren Zimmer, Ph.D.

Scott Exter Professor (COM)


Van Wilson, Ph.D.

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies (COM)


Shelly Martin

Program Coordinator for Research Administration (HSC)