Go to content

Cancer Research Council Members

The Texas A&M Cancer Research Council was created to enhance and facilitate Texas A&M researchers’ response to the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) funding opportunities. The Council comprises key faculty-researchers who have an interest in cancer research and recognize the scope of opportunities and resources available at Texas A&M and the Texas A&M Health Science Center. The primary purpose of the Council is to act as an institutional “response team” to identify opportunities at CPRIT and other cancer-focused programs. The Council also provides advice and guidance to faculty-researchers and administrators on cancer-related initiatives.

 

Members

Warren E. Zimmer, Ph.D.
Chair, Cancer Research Council
Scott Exter Professor
Systems Biology & Translational Medicine
College of Medicine
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: wezimmer@medicine.tamhsc.edu

 

Clinton Allred, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Nutrition and Food Science
Texas A&M
Email: callred@tamu.edu

 

Jane Bolin, B.S.N., J.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Health Policy and Management
School of Rural Public Health
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: JBolin@srph.tamhsc.edu

 

David S. Carlson, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Office of Research and Graduate Studies
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: Carlson@tamhsc.edu

 

Robert Chapkin, Ph.D.
Professor
Nutrition and Food Science
Texas A&M
Email: r-chapkin@tamu.edu

 

Rena D’Souza, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
Biomedical Science
Baylor College of Dentistry
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: RD'souza@bcd.tamhsc.edu

 

John Ivy, Ph.D.
Senior Research Development Officer
Division of Research
Texas A&M
Email: johnivy@tamu.edu

 

Joe Jilka, Ph.D.
Assistant Director Innovation Development
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: jilka@medicine.tamhsc.edu

 

Sid Kyle, Ph.D.
Professor of Toxicology
Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology
Texas A&M

 

Wallace McKeehan, Ph.D.
Professor and Center Director
Center for Cancer Biology & Nutrition
Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: wmckeehan@ibt.tamhsc.edu

 

Kenneth McLeroy, Ph.D.
Professor
Social and Behavioral Health
School of Rural Public Health
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: KMcLeroy@srph.tamhsc.edu

 

Shelly Martin
Program Coordinator for Research Administration
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: martin@tamhsc.edu

 

Weston Porter, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Veterinary Integrative Biosciences
Texas A&M
Email: wporter@tamu.edu

 

Darwin Prockop, Ph.D.
Professor
Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: Prockop@medicine.tamhsc.edu

 

Kathleen Rankin, D.D.S.
Professor and Associate Chair
Public Health Science
Baylor College of Dentistry
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: KRankin@bcd.tamhsc.edu

 

Stephen Safe, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Environmental and Genetic Medicine
Institute of Biosciences and Technology
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: ssafe@ibt.tamhsc.edu  

 

J. Martin Scholtz, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President
Division of Research
Texas A&M
Molecular and Cellular Medicine
Texas A&M Health Science Center
Email: SCHOLTZ@medicine.tamhsc.edu

 

Divider

 

Programmatic Contacts 

For general questions or comments regarding the Texas A&M Research Council, please contact one of the following members:

  • Warren Zimmer
  • David Carlson
  • John Ivy
  • Shelly Martin
  • J. Martin Scholtz

 

For questions regarding Prevention, please contact one of the following members:

  • Jane Bolin
  • Ken McLeroy
  • Kathleen Rankin
  • Clinton Allred
  • Robert Chapkin

 

For questions regarding Research, please contact one of the following members:

  • Clinton Allred
  • Robert Chapkin
  • Rena D'Souza
  • Wallace McKeehan
  • Weston Porter 
  • Darwin Prockop
  • Stephen Safe
  • Warren Zimmer

 

For questions regarding Commercialization, please contact one of the following members:

  • Joe Jilka
  • Darwin Prockop
  • Stephen Safe
  • David Carlson